Skip to content



Year End Show 2021 award winners

Year End Show 2021

Thanks to all who joined us for the Year End Show 2021 on May 7! If you missed the live event, you can still view the exhibited work on Miro:

Graduate projects
Undergraduate projects

Our hope is to install the work throughout the school over the summer and to kick off the new year with a real and very much not virtual party.

In the meantime, we congratulate all the award winners. We’re thankful to our jury, Dawn Finley, Molly Hunker, and Jeannie Kim, along with our faculty review teams, for all their thoughtful comments.

Jury awards

Adrian D. Smith Architecture Award
Best in Show
Masha Travina, House of Many Walls

Pella Fellowship Prize
Best Graduate Project
Morgan Peterson, Three Houses under a Vacant Lot

Pella Fellowship Prize
Best Undergraduate Project
Aleks Forystek, Trees, Tar, Rocks, Dirt

Alumni awards

Alumni Choice Award, continuing student
Raha Mahmoudi, 4 in 1

Alumni Choice Award, graduating student
Regina Pricillia, Brick Refuge

Susan Nealey Scholarship Award
Kasia Pilat, Terrace House

Faculty awards

Louis Solomon Award
Director’s Prize
Michael Laufenberg, Chicago Frame

Timothy Bruce Award
Best first-year undergraduate project
Yousif Giyo, The Epic Highs and Lows of Stacking Courtyards

Kenneth Schroeder Scholarship Award
Best second-year undergraduate project
Arnie Santoyo, Comfort Shack

Kevin K. Pierce Scholarship Award
Best third-year undergraduate project
Uriel Gutierrez, Craigslist, But In Person

Faculty Fellowship Award
Best fourth-year undergraduate project
Regina Pricillia, Brick Refuge

Synectics Group, Inc. Award
Best first-year graduate project
Emily Kellogg, No Wonder Museum

Swanke, Hayden, Connell, Ltd. Award
Best second-year graduate project
Raha Mahmoudi, 4 in 1

Faculty Fellowship Award
Best third-year graduate project
Summer Hofford, Wild Data

We’d also like to recognize the two graduation award winners: Lindsey Warren (Alpha Rho Chi Bronze Medal) and Summer Hofford (Henry Adams Medal). Summer Hofford has also been awarded the Professional Practice Student of Merit Award.

We’re grateful to the Student Advisory Board for gathering additional material for the event. You can watch videos recapping the year by the third-year undergrads and the second-year undergrads on YouTube.

Finally, in the days since the show, we’ve learned of another university honor: 2021 graduate Shraddha Shetty has been awarded the first-ever Student Leadership and Civic Engagement’s UIC Co-Curricular Leadership Certificate.

Have a great summer, everyone!